New to VelBus

Hi Guys, I am new to VelBus but from what i have seen so far, it looks like it will do what i want.

My last attempt at home automation was with X10, which despite spending 1000’s of hours working on a program for it, and getting several people around the world to test it…just could not do what I wanted…to unreliable :frowning:

This I have high hopes for… :smiley: … so to the reason for my post… as anyone here done any programming through the USB interface using VB2008 ?

Would be interested to hear of any pitfalls or issues that may trip me up, or even some samples to give me some ideas.

One question, can the system be operated by PC through the interface and the VelBus controller, (as back up).

Many thanks in advance.

Andrew

Your Velbus system can be controlled via the PC using the Velbuslink software or your own code.

Welcome Andrew :wink:

I did some quick tests with VB2008 (C#). Have a look at forum.velleman.be/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=1193 for more details.
However, I’m not familar with VB/C#. Because I’m an Actionscript (Flex,Flash) programmar myselve I switched to Flex. Running the VelbusLink as a server (socket) it’s possible to communicate with Velbus using any language that supports socket communication.

I’m using my velbus modules for 9 months now, so in the meantime I have some experience with the Velbus API (see forum.velleman.be/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=1710) and I must say it works very stable. It’s like night and day compared with X10 :wink:

My home-made tool runs 24 hrs a day for several months now and I don’t think the velbus communication ever went down. Except because of some errors in my own code.

The nice thing about Velbus is its 2-way communication which makes it very suitable to create an event driven application.